Choosing the Best Perspective for Your Story


Something I’ve found myself wrestling with a lot lately is which perspective to write from. I’m not just talking about when I start new pieces either, but some of my long-standing WIPs have fallen into this speculation as well. I find myself wondering, often to the point of not writing, whether or not a story would be more impactful from a different POV, whether information shared would be more or less obvious, whether readers will connect with characters well enough with the current setup.

I never used to have these kinds of questions. I used to make a choice and run with it, and while I might second guess plot points, character development and sentence structure… Some parts of my writing simply were. I choose to look at this change as a positive though – I know more, therefore I contemplate more, in an effort to make more informed choices, and therefore create more masterful pieces.  

In response to this, I’ve developed steps to help identify which perspective is best for any given story. But first, as a refresher, here are your POV options:

  • 1st person perspective – “I told him he couldn’t go that way.”
  • 2nd person perspective – “You decided the course of nations.”
  • 3rd person perspective – “She was headed for trouble.”
    • 3rd person limited – POV is limited to a single character. This POV can be further broken down by narration directly from within the character or narration from outside the character.
    • 3rd person multiple – narration follows multiple characters in the third person with changing of character often identified with chapter or page breaks
    • 3rd person omniscient – narrator knows everything in third person, where narration isn’t limited to a single character, literally an omni-point of view

And here are the questions I’ve been asking myself to narrow down my formatting options:

  • What level of knowledge do I want readers to have? Do I want them to stay with one or two characters, or will it be beneficial at some point for them to have access to information outside of those individuals?
  • What level of emotion do I want readers to have? Further, how connected do I want readers to be to a single character’s emotions, and what kinds of feelings do I want the overall story to inspire?
  • How exposed are my characters going to be? Should readers have unrestricted access to even the ugliest inner workings?
  • How do I want the story to feel overall? Do I want someone’s adventure to be told, or does the story encompass more? Each POV lends itself to different kinds of stories.

I ask myself these four questions while utilizing scene determination – that is, choosing an important scene and writing it in all five voices. This is usually a fairly quick process, literally just running through to change nouns, pronouns and sometimes sentence structures. None of this exercise needs to be grammatically corrected. You just need to actually go through each option, envisioning what the rest of the story could look like.

Ultimately though, once you’ve played with all of this you need to return to writing. And don’t fret if you end up changing your mind part way through. If you’ve done your prep work well, all of the material is already there to switch to a different person.

About WhitneyCarter

Greetings and welcome to Whitney's everything blog! I am a fantasy and erotica writer, an animal lover in the process of transitioning into a vegetarian and eventually vegan lifestyle, a practicing witch and a baby loss mother. Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Writing Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choosing the Best Perspective for Your Story

  1. Dawn Ross says:

    I hope I wasn’t the one who brought about this frustration when I pointed out the point of view confusion while reading parts of Amazonian. Critique can be hard to swallow sometimes. But it’s meant to help us grow, not hold us back. I was initially overwhelmed and downhearted when I got back all the critiques from the first version of my sci-fi. But then I realized their feedback gave me an opportunity to improve, to make my story better and deeper. It actually inspired me once I started thinking about it. Please, never stop writing just because of a few critiques. You’re a great storyteller!!!

    Another thing I’ve come to realize when it comes to critiques is that people sometimes have differing opinions. One person tells me I should start my story with action and another says I need to ground my character in the real world first. One says to add more description and another says I have too much. So when you get critiques, get it from multiple sources. When just about everyone is saying the same thing, you know this is probably something you need to work on. But when opinions differ, do what works best for you.

Leave a Reply

