New Year’s Resolutions


IMG_20160914_203857.jpg

Dirt road in my hometown, September 2016

New Year’s Resolutions are cliche. We all know it – there’s a part of us that cringes every time those three little words are uttered. The idea that we haven’t lived up to our own expectations in the past year, that things haven’t gone as planned and we haven’t been able to cross off as many things from last year’s list as we would have liked. This is coupled with the knowledge that resolutions made on January 1st are usually emotional, and too frequently left by the wayside in a matter of a month or two. It’s that slightly bitter note that none of us wants to swallow that makes us hesitate.

But then the other part, the sweeter side that always convinces us to take another go…the possibility of a new start, a new direction, a new you. That’s pretty tempting.

I could give you all kinds of advice on how to make realistic goals, baby step goals, goals you can actually accomplish in the coming twelve months. But the simple truth is that you already know how to do those things, and you know the secret to a resolution. Your determination, drive and self-discipline are the tools you need. And practice is the only way to learn how to use them.

So I have a list of resolutions, and as with years past I will do my best to try and reach those goals. But there are only three on that list that really, truly matter. These are the promises I make to myself.

  • I am a writer. No matter what else happens or changes or tries to alter me, that is who I am. A writer. Always.
  • I will continue to love and cherish my relationship with my hubby. He has always believed in and loved me and I him. Here’s to another year together and stronger, my love.

And lastly, and possibly the most important…

  • Eevee, my beautiful baby girl, my heart and soul… I’m going to live, okay? I choose to live for both of us.  
About WhitneyCarter

Greetings and welcome to Whitney's everything blog! I am a fantasy and erotica writer, an animal lover in the process of transitioning into a vegetarian and eventually vegan lifestyle, a practicing witch and a baby loss mother. Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Writing Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. DakotaCarter says:

    The end though 💔 Beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

