Leaping off the deep end of freelancing


One of the hardest things for a writer to do is to keep writing. Too often, we only want to write when we’re in the right mood, the right place, when we have enough time, with the right inspiration, yada, yada. Unless you’re writing purely for yourself though that’s not a good way to approach it; we novices hear the advice over and over:

  • Write every day
  • Use your time wisely
  • Balance your projects
  • Give yourself a quiet place to write
  • Treat your writing like a business

Most of what comes down the chain is good advice, but brains are like sponges; they can only absorb so much information. I’ve followed the freelance writing scene for a couple of years now, always reading, planning and anticipating. But never doing. Never actually putting any of the endless information to any use. It’s a huge step that divides the would-be-freelancer from the freelancer. It takes time and energy and money and dedication to take that step. But it also takes guts. That’s been my problem. I can train myself to take the time to write every day and invest in marketing, but I’ve always hesitated on the edge of the cliff, hesitant to jump. And it totally feels like a jump.

I’ve made business cards but I’m hesitant to hand them out because it makes me legit. What if someone actually calls me about a project? I’ve got this idea that I could post to my Facebook and see if any of my friends are interested, but what if I disappoint? I’ve got a dozen different publications sitting in my bookmarks folder that I could easily query, but they just sit there.

How do you bring yourself to jump off the proverbial cliff? *Looks over the edge* Because it’s a long way down.

The only real advice I’ve been able to give myself is that I’m thinking too big and expecting too much. Freelancers aren’t forged overnight; their marketing and writing empires take years to cultivate. But they all had to take the first step. One project at a time. I keep telling myself that it’s practical to turn down work if you end up with a job you can’t take or more work than you can handle, but the perfectionist in me cringes. Like the first step to anything, convincing yourself to make that leap is the hardest part. Everything else after that is supposed to be a breeze… Right?

School drama, work drama, family drama, pet drama, friend drama, relationship drama. Most of us have enough drama in our lives. So stop making such a big deal about leaping and jump already. Or get pushed. 😉

About WhitneyCarter

Greetings and welcome to Whitney's everything blog! I am a fantasy and erotica writer, an animal lover in the process of transitioning into a vegetarian and eventually vegan lifestyle, a practicing witch and a baby loss mother. Check out Invisible Ink Blog at http://www.whitneycarter.wordpress.com Check out Ayslyn's Corner at http://www.ayslynscorner.wordpress.com Check out wombs in rebellion at http://wombsinrebellion.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

